Communiqué from The Freedom Summit

Communiqué from The Freedom Summit

Freedom Summit held at the Old Bungalow, Mparntwe (Alice Springs, NT)

27 and 28 November 2014

We, the Original Sovereign Peoples and Heads of Nations being assembled at the Old Bungalow, Mparntwe (Alice Springs) declare the Independence of our Nations and Peoples. We also declare that we have and continue to be independent Sovereign Nations under the designation of the United Tribes of our Lands. 

Freedom Summit Alice Springs - November 2014
This YouTube copy can be downlowded from:
For higher definition versions and alternative formats go to:

More CAAMA Videos of Freedom Summit

All sovereign power and authority within the Territories of the United Tribes of our Lands are hereby declared to reside entirely and exclusively in the hereditary Elders and in the Heads of the Tribes. In our collective capacities we declare that we will not permit any legislative authority separate from ourselves to exist on our Lands, nor any function of the colonial governments to be exercised within the said Territories, unless authorised by the appropriate people or persons appointed by us. Our authority originates from the ancient Law/Lore of the Land, also referred to as the continental common law of Australia.

We gathered at The Freedom Summit to respond to the extreme assaults from all levels of government hitting our communities including but not limited to:

  • historic and growing rates of incarceration;
  • continuing stolen generations;
  • a suicide epidemic and;
  • the growing death rate from preventable diseases.

In addition, governments have shamefully announced intentions to close down communities in Western Australia and South Australia. Oombulgurri in WA has already been bulldozed – this is an act of aggression in an open genocidal process, on top of the continuing apartheid and land clearances through the Northern Territory Intervention.

Organisations across the continent are having funding slashed. Heritage laws are being attacked and our culture is being owned by white government Ministers.

A new land grab is happening through mining tenements and operations. This is a direct attack on Land Rights across this country.

There is no grass-roots representation of our people at the national level and the Indigenous Advisory Council is a hand-picked farce and must resign.

At this Freedom Summit grass-roots leaders from across the country have gathered to say enough is enough.

To our people suffering, we say - there is hope.

We have nominated a steering committee to take the struggle forward. We are planning future Freedom Summits to discuss the vision of our true national representation with bigger numbers and to strategise ways forward.

The fight for our rights will rise from the ashes.

We are planning to lead mass action on the streets to defend our rights and enforce our vision of self-determination and continuing sovereignty.

The Freedom Summit authorised delegates are:

Tauto Sansbury
Rosalie Kunoth-Monks
John Christophersen
Jenny Munro
Les Coe
Paul Spearim Jnr
Lex Wotton
Christine Abdulla
Roxley Foley
Maurie Japarta Ryan
Helen Lee
Billy Risk
Vanessa Culbong
Richard Evans
John Singer
Ghillar: Michael Anderson
Lesley Tickner
Janice Harris
Elaine Peckham
Rex Granites Japanangka
Chris Tomlins
Freedom Summit contacts
  • Tauto Sansbury 0403 165 193
  • Rosalie Kunoth-Monks (via Ngarla Kunoth-Monks) 0427 361 844